Monday, January 3, 2011

Allergy Labels For Milk Can Be Confusing

I have a well-worn paper I carry in my wallet. It lists food ingredients that DO NOT contain milk, but sound like they are milk based. I refer to it often as I still find myself questioning things like "potassium lactate" (sure sounds like a milk product, doesn't it?). In case you're feeling confused by this as well, here's the list I typed up years ago. I believe I originally got it from FAAN:
  • Calcium lactate
  • Calcuium stearoyl lactylate
  • Cocoa butter
  • Cream of tartar
  • Lactic acid (although, lactic acid starter culture may contain lactose)
  • Oleoresin 
  • Potassium lactate
  • Sodium lactate
  • Sodium stearoyl lactylate

None of the ingredients above contain milk protein and those with milk/dairy allergy do not need to avoid any of these ingredients. If you need a more comprehensive list, pop on over to Go Dairy Free where Alisa Fleming offers more details on this subject.
 
While I'm on the subject, there are several other misconceptions about some common foods:
  • Coconut- is not a nut, but a fruit
  • Nutmeg- does not contain nuts
  • Water Chestnuts- are not in the nut family.
As always, check with your allergist if you have any questions about any of these ingredients and their safety for you.
Post a Comment